Skyguide - Selected objects for every season

The Skyguide is primarily intended to give suggestions for your own observations and will briefly describe selected objects for each season of the year. Both easy and difficult objects will be selected. How difficult an object is depends of course on several factors, especially sky quality, telescope aperture and experience of the observer.

For each object the most important information is given in short form. These are supplemented by photos or sketches. Furthermore, a map, created with the free software Cartes du Ciel (Skychart), is available for a rough orientation. In general, I recommend, to create your own finder charts. The visual description of the object is based mainly on own observations and should serve only as a starting point.

I - Spring II - Summer III - Autumn IV - Winter
2014 - skyguide-en-2014-2.pdf skyguide-en-2014-3.pdf skyguide-en-2014-4.pdf
2015 skyguide-en-2015-1.pdf skyguide-en-2015-2.pdf skyguide-en-2015-3.pdf skyguide-en-2015-4.pdf
2016 skyguide-en-2016-1.pdf skyguide-en-2016-2.pdf skyguide-en-2016-3.pdf skyguide-en-2016-4.pdf
2017 skyguide-en-2017-1.pdf skyguide-en-2017-2.pdf skyguide-en-2017-3.pdf skyguide-en-2017-4.pdf
2018 skyguide-en-2018-1.pdf skyguide-en-2018-2.pdf skyguide-en-2018-3.pdf skyguide-en-2018-4.pdf
2019 skyguide-en-2019-1.pdf skyguide-en-2019-2.pdf skyguide-en-2019-3.pdf skyguide-en-2019-4.pdf
2020 skyguide-en-2020-1.pdf skyguide-en-2020-2.pdf skyguide-en-2020-3.pdf skyguide-en-2020-4.pdf
2021 HTML HTML HTML HTML
2022 HTML HTML HTML in progress...

Skyguide 2022-3 (Autumn)

by Robert Zebahl & René Merting
Skyguide 2022-3 - Chart
Chart created with Cartes du Ciel

Skyguide 2022-3 - Messier 33
Messier 33 – Image by David Wemhöner, 10 inch Newtonian (f/4.7), ZWO ASI294MC PRO (color), 15 hours exposure time, north is top right

In this tour we cover a small area in the constellation Triangulum, which is located between Andromeda and Aries. The name and the size suggest a modern constellation, but it belongs to the classical 48 constellations and is known since ancient times. The brightest star, Beta Trianguli, has a magnitude of 3m.0. Alpha Trianguli is the second brightest star with 3m.4 and is also called Mothallah or Elmuthalleth (Arabic origin, “tip of the triangle”) or Caput Trianguli (lat. “head of the triangle”). All other stars are fainter than 4m.0.

Besides worthwhile galaxies (e.g. NGC 925, NGC 750/1 = Arp 166) and double stars (e.g. Iota Trianguli) the constellation is best known for Messier 33 (Triangulum Nebula). After the two Magellanic Clouds in the southern sky and the Andromeda Galaxy Messier 33 is with 5m.7 one of the apparently brightest galaxies in the sky and part of the Local Group. The spiral structure was first described by the Irish astronomer Lord Rosse (William Parsons) in 1845. He observed with a 72-inch reflecting telescope, commissioned in the same year and unofficially named Leviathan. A few weeks earlier he also observed spiral arms in Messier 51. However, these observations were doubted by astronomers for a long time.


Skyguide 2022-3 - Messier 33 (labeled)
Messier 33 – Data as image above, inverted and labeled by Robert Zebahl

Due to its brightness Messier 33 can be observed quite well with the naked eye under dark skies and appears as a faint nebula. With some experience, the oval shape can also be seen. The galaxy is impressive in any instrument including binoculars and also reveals the spiral structure when observed carefully in a medium sized telescope. However, individual objects can also be observed in Messier 33. Most of them are HII regions or star associations. Most objects are included in the New General Catalogue (NGC) or Index Catalogue (IC). UHC filters can be helpful in observing the HII regions. The brightest HII region is NGC 604 (12m.0) on the northeast edge of Messier 33 and is well visible with an aperture of about 4 inches as a round, compact nebula. As aperture and magnification increase, details can also be observed. NGC 604 was already discovered by William Herschel in 1784.

For the next three objects from the NGC an aperture of about 8 inches and high magnification is recommended. Furthermore, a detailed finding chart is required. By the way, the German-Danish astronomer Heinrich Louis d'Arrest is named as the discoverer of these three objects, who observed them for the first time in 1861 (NGC 588 & NGC 592) and 1864 (NGC 595). The HII region NGC 595 (13m.1) lies northwest of the center in the middle of the halo. It appears in an 8-inch Dobsonian at least as an oval, small brightening. Moving further west of the center of Messier 33, we come to NGC 592 (13m.0). It is a HII region and large star association. Conspicuous are two bright knots with a distance of nearly 25". Under which conditions are these knots visually visible? Even further west outside the halo we find NGC 588 (13m.5). Again, only a compact, rather faint brightening will be visible in medium sized telescopes.

In addition, there are over a dozen other HII regions, most of which were discovered by the French astronomer Camille Guillaume Bigourdan in 1889. There is much to discover in Messier 33, so that one can fill whole evenings with it. If you are looking for something different and prefer to observe extra-galactic globular clusters, you can find these in Messier 31, the Andromeda galaxy. The best known globular cluster is Mayall 2 (G 1) well outside the halo of Messier 31 and can be seen already with 6 inch aperture as a very compact brightening. Much easier is the very large star association NGC 206, which stands out clearly on photographs.

As always we wish you a lot of joy and relaxation while observing.

Skyguide - Ausgewählte Objekte für jede Jahreszeit

Der Skyguide soll in erster Linie Anregungen für eigene Beobachtungen geben und wird dabei jährlich für jede Jahreszeit ausgewählte Objekte kurz beschreiben. Es werden dabei sowohl leichte als auch schwierige Objekte ausgewählt. Wie schwer ein Objekt letztlich ist, hängt natürlich von verschiedenen Faktoren ab, vor allem der Himmelsqualität, Teleskopöffnung und Erfahrung.

Zu jedem Objekt werden die wichtigsten Informationen in Kurzform angegeben. Ergänzt werde diese durch Fotos oder Zeichnungen. Desweiteren ist eine Karte, erstellt mit der freien Software Cartes du Ciel (Skychart), für die grobe Orientierung vorhanden. Im Allgemeinen empfehle ich aber, eigene Aufsuchkarten zu erstellen. Die visuelle Beschreibung des Objekts basiert weitestgehend auf eigenen Beobachtungen und soll lediglich als Anhaltspunkt dienen.

I - Frühling II - Sommer III - Herbst IV - Winter
2014 - skyguide-de-2014-2.pdf skyguide-de-2014-3.pdf skyguide-de-2014-4.pdf
2015 skyguide-de-2015-1.pdf skyguide-de-2015-2.pdf skyguide-de-2015-3.pdf skyguide-de-2015-4.pdf
2016 skyguide-de-2016-1.pdf skyguide-de-2016-2.pdf skyguide-de-2016-3.pdf skyguide-de-2016-4.pdf
2017 skyguide-de-2017-1.pdf skyguide-de-2017-2.pdf skyguide-de-2017-3.pdf skyguide-de-2017-4.pdf
2018 skyguide-de-2018-1.pdf skyguide-de-2018-2.pdf skyguide-de-2018-3.pdf skyguide-de-2018-4.pdf
2019 skyguide-de-2019-1.pdf skyguide-de-2019-2.pdf skyguide-de-2019-3.pdf skyguide-de-2019-4.pdf
2020 skyguide-de-2020-1.pdf skyguide-de-2020-2.pdf skyguide-de-2020-3.pdf skyguide-de-2020-4.pdf
2021 HTML HTML HTML HTML
2022 HTML HTML HTML in Arbeit...

Skyguide 2022-3 (Herbst)

von Robert Zebahl & René Merting
Skyguide 2022-3 - Chart
Karte erstellt mit Cartes du Ciel

Skyguide 2022-3 - Messier 33
Messier 33 – Fotografie von David Wemhöner, 10-Zoll-Newton (f/4,7), ZWO ASI294MC PRO (color), 15 Stunden Belichtungszeit, Norden ist oben rechts

In dieser Tour bewegen wir uns auf kleinem Raum in dem Sternbild Dreieck (lat. Triangulum), welches zwischen Andromeda und Widder gelegen ist. Der Name und die Größe lassen ein modernes Sternbild vermuten, doch gehört es zu den klassischen 48 Sternbildern und ist seit der Antike bekannt. Der hellste Stern, Beta Trianguli, besitzt eine Helligkeit von 3m.0. Alpha Trianguli ist mit 3m.4 der zweithellste Stern und wird auch Mothallah bzw. Elmuthalleth (arabischer Ursprung, „Spitze des Dreiecks”) oder Caput Trianguli (lat. „Kopf des Dreiecks”) bezeichnet. Alle weiteren Sterne sind schwächer als 4m.0.

Neben lohnenden Galaxien (z.B. NGC 925, NGC 750/1 = Arp 166) und Doppelsternen (z.B. Iota Trianguli) ist das Sternbild vor allem durch Messier 33 (Dreiecks- bzw. Triangulumnebel) bekannt. Nach den beiden Magellanschen Wolken am Südhimmel und der Andromedagalaxie gehört Messier 33 mit 5m.7 zu den scheinbar hellsten Galaxien am Himmel und ist Teil der Lokalen Gruppe. Die Spiralstruktur wurde erstmals vom irischen Astronomen Lord Rosse (William Parsons) im Jahr 1845 beschrieben. Er beobachtete mit einem 72-Zoll-Spiegelteleskop, welches im gleichen Jahr in Betrieb genommen wurde und den inoffiziellen Namen Leviathan trägt. Wenige Wochen zuvor beobachtete er ebenfalls Spiralarme in Messier 51. Allerdings wurden diese Beobachtungen lange Zeit von Astronomen angezweifelt.


Skyguide 2022-3 - Messier 33 (labeled)
Messier 33 – Aufnahmedaten wie oberes Bild, invertiert und beschriftet von Robert Zebahl

Aufgrund der Helligkeit lässt sich Messier 33 unter entsprechend dunklem Himmel recht gut mit freiem Auge beobachten und erscheint als matter Nebel. Mit etwas Erfahrung lässt sich ebenfalls die ovale Form erkennen. Die Galaxie ist in jedem Instrument einschließlich dem Fernglas beeindruckend und offenbart bei genauer Beobachtung in einem mittelgroßen Teleskop auch die Spiralstruktur. Doch lassen sich auch Einzelobjekte in Messier 33 beobachten. Es handelt sich überwiegend um HII-Regionen bzw. Sternassoziationen. Die meisten Objekte sind im New General Catalogue (NGC) oder Index Catalogue (IC) enthalten. UHC-Filter können bei der Beobachtung der HII-Regionen hilfreich sein. Die hellste HII-Region ist NGC 604 (12m.0) am Nordostrand von Messier 33 und ist gut mit etwa 4 Zoll Teleskopöffnung als runder, kompakter Nebel sichtbar. Mit zunehmender Teleskopöffnung und Vergrößerung können auch Details beobachtet werden. NGC 604 wurde bereits 1784 von William Herschel entdeckt.

Für die nächsten drei Objekte aus dem NGC wird eine Teleskopöffnung von ca. 8 Zoll sowie hohe Vergrößerung empfohlen. Des Weiteren ist eine genaue Aufsuchkarte erforderlich. Als Entdecker dieser drei Objekte wird übrigens der deutsch-dänische Astronom Heinrich Louis d’Arrest genannt, welcher diese in den Jahren 1861 (NGC 588 & NGC 592) bzw. 1864 (NGC 595) erstmals beobachtete. Die HII-Region NGC 595 (13m.1) liegt nordwestlich des Zentrums inmitten des Halos. Sie erscheint im 8-Zoll-Dobson zumindest als ovale, kleine Aufhellung. Bewegen wir uns weiter westlich des Zentrums von Messier 33, kommen wir zu NGC 592 (13m.0). Es handelt sich um eine HII-Region und große Sternassoziation. Auffällig sind dabei zwei helle Knoten mit einem Abstand von knapp 25". Unter welchen Bedingungen sind diese Knoten visuell sichtbar? Noch weiter westlich außerhalb des Halos finden wir NGC 588 (13m.5). Auch hier wird man in mittleren Teleskopen lediglich eine kompakte, eher schwache Aufhellung erkennen.

Darüber hinaus gibt es noch über ein Dutzend weiterer HII-Regionen, welche größtenteils vom französischen Astronomen Camille Guillaume Bigourdan im Jahr 1889 entdeckt wurden. Es gibt in Messier 33 viel zu entdecken, sodass man ganze Abende damit füllen kann. Wer etwas Abwechslung sucht und lieber extragalaktische Kugelsternhaufen beobachten möchte, wird in Messier 31, der Andromedagalaxie, fündig. Der bekannteste Kugelsternhaufen ist Mayall 2 (G 1) deutlich außerhalb des Halos von Messier 31 und kann bereits gut mit 6 Zoll Teleskopöffnung als sehr kompakte Aufhellung gesehen werden. Deutlich einfacher ist die sehr große Sternassoziation NGC 206, welche auf Fotografien deutlich hervortritt.

Wie immer wünschen wir viel Freude und Entspannung bei der Beobachtung.