Skyguide - Selected objects for every season

The Skyguide is primarily intended to give suggestions for your own observations and will briefly describe selected objects for each season of the year. Both easy and difficult objects will be selected. How difficult an object is depends of course on several factors, especially sky quality, telescope aperture and experience of the observer.

For each object the most important information is given in short form. These are supplemented by photos or sketches. Furthermore, a map, created with the free software Cartes du Ciel (Skychart), is available for a rough orientation. In general, I recommend, to create your own finder charts. The visual description of the object is based mainly on own observations and should serve only as a starting point.

I - Spring II - Summer III - Autumn IV - Winter
2014 - skyguide-en-2014-2.pdf skyguide-en-2014-3.pdf skyguide-en-2014-4.pdf
2015 skyguide-en-2015-1.pdf skyguide-en-2015-2.pdf skyguide-en-2015-3.pdf skyguide-en-2015-4.pdf
2016 skyguide-en-2016-1.pdf skyguide-en-2016-2.pdf skyguide-en-2016-3.pdf skyguide-en-2016-4.pdf
2017 skyguide-en-2017-1.pdf skyguide-en-2017-2.pdf skyguide-en-2017-3.pdf skyguide-en-2017-4.pdf
2018 skyguide-en-2018-1.pdf skyguide-en-2018-2.pdf skyguide-en-2018-3.pdf skyguide-en-2018-4.pdf
2019 skyguide-en-2019-1.pdf skyguide-en-2019-2.pdf skyguide-en-2019-3.pdf skyguide-en-2019-4.pdf
2020 skyguide-en-2020-1.pdf skyguide-en-2020-2.pdf skyguide-en-2020-3.pdf skyguide-en-2020-4.pdf
2021 HTML HTML HTML in progress...

Skyguide 2021-1 (Spring)

by Robert Zebahl & René Merting
Skyguide 2021-1 - Chart
Chart created with Cartes du Ciel

The constellation Lynx is quite inconspicuous and was introduced by the Polish astronomer Johannes Hevelius (1611-1687) to close the gap between Gemini and Ursa Major. Only the brightest star, alpha Lyncis (3m1), received a designation with a Greek letter. The other, brighter stars got Flamsteed numbers. It is also interesting that at the time of the Flamsteed assignment the constellation boundaries were not yet exactly defined. This happened in the early 20th century by the International Astronomical Union (IAU), which assigned the astronomer Eugène Delportes. Due to this circumstance, today stars like 10 Ursa Majoris are located in the constellation Lynx, while 41 Lyncis is found in Ursa Major. Such examples can also be found in other constellations.

As inconspicuous the constellation is, you will find a number of worthwhile objects like the galaxies NGC 2537 (Arp 6, Bear's Paw Galaxy) & IC 2233 or the planetary nebula Jones-Emberson 1 (PK164+31.1). Star clusters from the known catalogs on the other hand are not to be found. But Lynx offers many double and multiple stars. Very beautiful is the triple system 12 Lyncis (STF 948) in the northern part of the constellation.


Skyguide 2021-1 - STF 1334
STF 1334 – Sketch by Robert Zebahl, 63/840mm Zeiss Telementor I (140x), 2019-01-22

For our tour, we start in the south near alpha Lyncis, where two beautiful double stars can be found. 38 Lyncis (STF 1334) is a rather unequal pair (3m9 & 6m1) with an angular distance of 2.5 arcseconds. A telescope with an aperture of about 60mm will show the fainter companion only as a brightening in the first diffraction ring of the primary component. But with an aperture of 100mm or larger, a clear separation is well feasible. High magnifications are required. The color is described as white, yellow or even orange.

Between alpha and 38 Lyncis is the double star STF 1333. The angular distance is with 1.9 arcseconds smaller, but the components are with 6m6 & 6m7 nearly equally bright, so a separation is possible with 60mm aperture at high magnification. The components are also perceived white or yellowish here.


Skyguide 2021-1 - NGC 2683 (Photograph)
NGC 2683 – Image by David Wemhöner, 2.5 hours exposure time with ASI 294mc Pro and 10 inch f/4.7 Truss Newtonian, 2020-04-10/11
Skyguide 2021-1 - NGC 2683 (Sketch)
NGC 2683 – Sketch by Robert Zebahl, 102/1122mm ED refractor (62x) under urban conditions (Bortle 6-), 2020-03-23

Further west the galaxy NGC 2683 presents itself nearly edge-on and with an apparent overall brightness of about 9m7 it is bright enough to be observed well in smaller telescopes under suburban conditions. Because of its appearance it is also called UFO galaxy. NGC 2683 is a Hubble type Sb spiral galaxy with an active galactic nucleus. Under rather urban conditions (Bortle 6) it can be observed well with 100mm aperture and appears elongated, but without significant brightness increase towards the center. Under dark rural skies (Bortle 3) it is also well observable with 18x70 binoculars and appears as a homogeneous, thin nebula. The galaxy is embedded in a nice star field and is also worthwhile for photographers.


Skyguide 2021-1 - NGC 2782
NGC 2782 – Source: Pan-STARRS

North of alpha Lyncis we also find the much fainter galaxy NGC 2782 (Arp 215) with an apparent overall brightness of about 11m6. The visual challenge here is the detection of the outer spiral arms. Especially to the east of the galaxy, a widely extending spiral arm can be seen in photographs. Under suburban skies (Bortle 6) the galaxy can be seen as a rather small, faint, slightly condensed nebula already with 152mm aperture at medium magnification with averted vision. At 320mm aperture under dark rural skies, the bright spiral arm east of the galaxy is also visible as a compact brightening, albeit very faint.

Skyguide - Ausgewählte Objekte für jede Jahreszeit

Der Skyguide soll in erster Linie Anregungen für eigene Beobachtungen geben und wird dabei jährlich für jede Jahreszeit ausgewählte Objekte kurz beschreiben. Es werden dabei sowohl leichte als auch schwierige Objekte ausgewählt. Wie schwer ein Objekt letztlich ist, hängt natürlich von verschiedenen Faktoren ab, vor allem der Himmelsqualität, Teleskopöffnung und Erfahrung.

Zu jedem Objekt werden die wichtigsten Informationen in Kurzform angegeben. Ergänzt werde diese durch Fotos oder Zeichnungen. Desweiteren ist eine Karte, erstellt mit der freien Software Cartes du Ciel (Skychart), für die grobe Orientierung vorhanden. Im Allgemeinen empfehle ich aber, eigene Aufsuchkarten zu erstellen. Die visuelle Beschreibung des Objekts basiert weitestgehend auf eigenen Beobachtungen und soll lediglich als Anhaltspunkt dienen.

I - Frühling II - Sommer III - Herbst IV - Winter
2014 - skyguide-de-2014-2.pdf skyguide-de-2014-3.pdf skyguide-de-2014-4.pdf
2015 skyguide-de-2015-1.pdf skyguide-de-2015-2.pdf skyguide-de-2015-3.pdf skyguide-de-2015-4.pdf
2016 skyguide-de-2016-1.pdf skyguide-de-2016-2.pdf skyguide-de-2016-3.pdf skyguide-de-2016-4.pdf
2017 skyguide-de-2017-1.pdf skyguide-de-2017-2.pdf skyguide-de-2017-3.pdf skyguide-de-2017-4.pdf
2018 skyguide-de-2018-1.pdf skyguide-de-2018-2.pdf skyguide-de-2018-3.pdf skyguide-de-2018-4.pdf
2019 skyguide-de-2019-1.pdf skyguide-de-2019-2.pdf skyguide-de-2019-3.pdf skyguide-de-2019-4.pdf
2020 skyguide-de-2020-1.pdf skyguide-de-2020-2.pdf skyguide-de-2020-3.pdf skyguide-de-2020-4.pdf
2021 HTML HTML in Arbeit...

Skyguide 2021-1 (Frühling)

von Robert Zebahl & René Merting
Skyguide 2021-1 - Chart
Karte erstellt mit Cartes du Ciel

Das Sternbild Luchs (lat. Lynx) ist recht unscheinbar und wurde durch den polnischen Astronomen Johannes Hevelius (1611-1687) eingeführt, um die Lücke zwischen den Zwillingen und dem Großen Bären zu schließen. Lediglich der hellste Stern, alpha Lyncis (3,1 mag), erhielt eine Bezeichnung mit griechischem Buchstaben. Den anderen, helleren Sternen wurden Flamsteed-Nummern zugewiesen. Interessant ist auch, dass zur Zeit der Flamsteed-Nummerierung die Sternbildgrenzen noch nicht genau festgelegt waren. Dies geschah erst im frühen 20. Jahrhundert durch die Internationale Astronomische Union (IAU), welche hierfür den Astronomen Eugène Delportes beauftragte. Durch diesen Umstand liegen heute Sterne wie 10 Ursa Majoris im Sternbild Luchs, während 41 Lyncis im Großen Bären zu finden ist. Auch in anderen Sternbildern lassen sich solche Beispiele finden.

So unscheinbar das Sternbild auch sein mag, so findet man hier eine Reihe lohnender Objekte wie die Galaxien NGC 2537 (Arp 6, Bärentatzengalaxie) & IC 2233 oder auch den planetarischen Nebel Jones-Emberson 1 (PK164+31.1). Sternhaufen aus den bekannten Katalogen wird man dagegen vergeblich suchen. Dafür bietet der Luchs noch viele Doppel- und Mehrfachsterne. Besonders schön ist das Dreifachsystem 12 Lyncis (STF 948) im nördlichen Teil des Sternbildes.


Skyguide 2021-1 - STF 1334
STF 1334 – Zeichnung von Robert Zebahl, 63/840mm Zeiss Telementor I (140x), 22.01.2019

Für unsere Tour starten wir aber ganz im Süden bei alpha Lyncis, wo sich zwei schöne Doppelsterne befinden. 38 Lyncis (STF 1334) ist ein recht ungleiches Paar (3,9 & 6,1 mag) mit einem Winkelabstand von 2,5 Bogensekunden. Ein Teleskop mit einer Öffnung von etwa 60mm wird den schwächeren Begleiter lediglich als Aufhellung im ersten Beugungsring der Hauptkomponente zeigen. Ab 100mm Öffnung ist eine klassische Trennung aber gut machbar. Hohe Vergrößerungen sind erforderlich. Die Farbe wird als weiß, gelb oder gar orange beschrieben.

Zwischen alpha und 38 Lyncis findet sich noch der Doppelstern STF 1333. Der Winkelabstand ist mit 1,9 Bogensekunden zwar geringer, aber die Komponenten sind mit 6,6 & 6,7 mag nahezu gleich hell, sodass eine Trennung mit 60mm Teleskopöffnung bei hoher Vergrößerung möglich ist. Auch hier werden die Komponenten weiß oder gelblich wahrgenommen.


Skyguide 2021-1 - NGC 2683 (Photograph)
NGC 2683 – Fotografie von David Wemhöner, 2,5 Stunden Belichtungszeit mit ASI 294mc Pro und 10 Zoll f/4.7 Truss-Newton, 10/11.04.2020
Skyguide 2021-1 - NGC 2683 (Sketch)
NGC 2683 – Zeichnung von Robert Zebahl, 102/1122mm ED-Refraktor (62x) unter städtischen Bedingungen (Bortle 6-), 23.03.2020

Weiter westlich liegt die Galaxie NGC 2683, welche sich nahezu in Kantenlage präsentiert und mit einer scheinbaren Gesamthelligkeit von etwa 9,7 mag hell genug ist, um auch in kleineren Teleskopen unter Vorstadtbedingungen gut beobachtet werden zu können. Durch ihr Aussehen wird sie auch UFO-Galaxie genannt. NGC 2683 ist eine Spiralgalaxie vom Hubble-Typ Sb mit aktivem Galaxienkern. Unter eher städtischen Bedingungen (Bortle 6) lässt sie sich gut mit 100mm Teleskopöffnung beobachten und zeigt sich länglich, aber ohne nennenswerte Helligkeitszunahme Richtung Zentrum. Unter dunklem Landhimmel (Bortle 3) ist sie auch mit einem 18x70 Fernglas gut erreichbar und erscheint als homogener, schmaler Nebel. Die Galaxie ist in einem schönen Sternumfeld eingebettet und lohnt sich ebenfalls für Fotografen.


Skyguide 2021-1 - NGC 2782
NGC 2782 – Quelle: Pan-STARRS

Nördlich von alpha Lyncis finden wir noch die deutlich schwächere Galaxie NGC 2782 (Arp 215) mit einer scheinbaren Gesamthelligkeit von ca. 11,6 mag. Die visuelle Herausforderung hier besteht in der Erkennbarkeit der äußeren Spiralarme. Vor allem östlich der Galaxie ist auf Fotografien ein weit auslaufender Spiralarm zu erkennen. Unter einem Vorstadthimmel (Bortle 6) ist die Galaxie bereits mit 152mm Teleskopöffnung bei mittlerer Vergrößerung indirekt als eher kleiner, schwacher, leicht kondensierter Nebel zu sehen. Bei 320mm Teleskopöffnung unter dunklem Landhimmel ist auch der helle Spiralarm östlich der Galaxie als kompakte Aufhellung sichtbar, wenn auch sehr schwach.