Skyguide - Selected objects for every season

The Skyguide is primarily intended to give suggestions for your own observations and will briefly describe selected objects for each season of the year. Both easy and difficult objects will be selected. How difficult an object is depends of course on several factors, especially sky quality, telescope aperture and experience of the observer.

For each object the most important information is given in short form. These are supplemented by photos or sketches. Furthermore, a map, created with the free software Cartes du Ciel (Skychart), is available for a rough orientation. In general, I recommend, to create your own finder charts. The visual description of the object is based mainly on own observations and should serve only as a starting point.

I - Spring II - Summer III - Autumn IV - Winter
2014 - skyguide-en-2014-2.pdf skyguide-en-2014-3.pdf skyguide-en-2014-4.pdf
2015 skyguide-en-2015-1.pdf skyguide-en-2015-2.pdf skyguide-en-2015-3.pdf skyguide-en-2015-4.pdf
2016 skyguide-en-2016-1.pdf skyguide-en-2016-2.pdf skyguide-en-2016-3.pdf skyguide-en-2016-4.pdf
2017 skyguide-en-2017-1.pdf skyguide-en-2017-2.pdf skyguide-en-2017-3.pdf skyguide-en-2017-4.pdf
2018 skyguide-en-2018-1.pdf skyguide-en-2018-2.pdf skyguide-en-2018-3.pdf skyguide-en-2018-4.pdf
2019 skyguide-en-2019-1.pdf skyguide-en-2019-2.pdf skyguide-en-2019-3.pdf skyguide-en-2019-4.pdf
2020 skyguide-en-2020-1.pdf skyguide-en-2020-2.pdf skyguide-en-2020-3.pdf skyguide-en-2020-4.pdf
2021 HTML HTML HTML HTML
2022 HTML in progress...

Skyguide 2022-1 (Spring)

by Robert Zebahl & René Merting
Skyguide 2022-1 - Chart
Chart created with Cartes du Ciel

Skyguide 2022-1 - 1
Picot 1 (Napoleon's Hat) – Source: DSS

This time our sky tour will take place in the constellation of the Herdsman (lat. Bootes). The main star Arcturus is the third brightest star in the sky. Bootes belongs to the old constellations and is known since ancient times. There are several myths and stories, which will not be discussed here.

Since Bootes is far away from the band of the Milky Way, there are hardly any star clusters or nebulae to be found. But it holds quite a number of double stars, but also some beautiful galaxies. First we want to start close to Arcturus, where the star pattern Picot 1 is located. It consists of 7 stars with magnitudes between 9m.5 and 10m.6 and can be observed already under urban conditions with medium sized binoculars. Because of its shape it is also known as “Napoleon's Hat”, with the tip of the hat pointing to the northwest. But it does not necessarily have to be a hat. Description by Robert Zebahl with 16x70 binoculars under urban skies: “Pretty prominent star pattern, which indeed can be interpreted as a hat. The brim of the hat towards southwest appears shortened due to a fainter star. I tend to see a small mountain here. All in all a quite attractive star pattern.” René Merting describes Picot 1 in his 12.5-inch Dobsonian under dark rural skies as follows: “Here it is noticeable that not many more stars, than visible in small apertures, are added in the surrounding area, the pattern stands quite alone - the thought of a maggot crawling to the yellow-golden apple Arcturus appeals to me better than the hat.” Whether hat, mountain or maggot, the pleasure of observing was certain.


Skyguide 2022-1 - 2
NPP (Norman's Passing Pair) [1] – Source: DSS
Skyguide 2022-1 - 3
NPP (Norman's Passing Pair) [2] – Source: DSS

Further north we come to another very special star pattern. It is called “Normans Passing Pair” (NPP) and was first described in 2018 by the German amateur astronomer Norman Görlitz. At first glance, there are three medium bright stars, which are quite conspicuous because there are no brighter stars in the near surrounding. The peculiarity is that the two western stars form a physical pair of the multiple system BU 1442, which moves with quite high proper motion of about 1.37" per year towards southeast. The eastern one of the three stars is only a background star. The proper motion can be seen very well when comparing the two DSS images. The left DSS image (1) is an older image of the first DSS version.

Photographically and visually the proper motion can be recognized well also in the course of some years. For a first observation 16x70 binoculars are already sufficient. At a quick view the three stars appear more as an elongated nebula, but at a closer look they are clearly separated. For the detection of the proper motion of course a telescope is recommended.


Skyguide 2022-1 - 4
Epsilon Bootis – Sketch by Robert Zebahl, 60/600mm refractor (193x), 2018-04-10

Next we visit two double stars and start with a classic: epsilon Bootis (Izar). With an angular separation of about 2.8" and a brightness difference of the components of a little more than two magnitudes it can be observed very well in almost any telescope. Due to the overall brightness it can be found quickly even under brightened skies. The primary component appears to observers yellowish to orange, the companion gray or blue. Especially with small telescopes very high magnifications are beneficial, because the fainter companion then already merges with the first diffraction ring of the primary component. This can be well seen in the sketch alongside.

South of epsilon Bootis the double star STF 1884 can be found. With 6m.6 and 7m.5 at an angular separation of 2.1" it should still be separable well in smaller telescopes from about 80mm aperture. In even smaller telescopes close observation is required, at about 100mm aperture it is easy to separate at a magnification of 160x. A double star worth to be observed, even if not very colorful.


Skyguide 2022-1 - 5
Arp 199 (NGC 5544/5) – Source: Pan-STARRS

Our tour now comes to two globular clusters, which are very different in their appearance. Messier 3 (6m.4) appears very bright and very condensed, NGC 5466 (9m.1) on the other hand is much fainter without significant brightness increase towards the center. While Messier 3 is already easily visible as a compact nebula under brightened skies in small 8x40 binoculars, NGC 5466 needs quite dark rural skies, but is then also visible in medium sized binoculars due to its angular size of nearly 10'.

Last and most difficult object is the interacting pair of galaxies Arp 199, consisting of NGC 5544 and NGC 5545. The information about the overall brightness varies a lot depending on the source. The maximum apparent angular size of the galaxies is 1' or less, so rather high magnifications are required to separate the two galaxies from each other. With an aperture of 8 inches under dark rural skies (Bortle 4), the pair is by no means easy, but also not challenging for the experienced observer. The shape of the galaxies can be well seen at 150x, but the separation of the galaxies is quite difficult.

Finally, we wish you a lot of fun with the observation.

Skyguide - Ausgewählte Objekte für jede Jahreszeit

Der Skyguide soll in erster Linie Anregungen für eigene Beobachtungen geben und wird dabei jährlich für jede Jahreszeit ausgewählte Objekte kurz beschreiben. Es werden dabei sowohl leichte als auch schwierige Objekte ausgewählt. Wie schwer ein Objekt letztlich ist, hängt natürlich von verschiedenen Faktoren ab, vor allem der Himmelsqualität, Teleskopöffnung und Erfahrung.

Zu jedem Objekt werden die wichtigsten Informationen in Kurzform angegeben. Ergänzt werde diese durch Fotos oder Zeichnungen. Desweiteren ist eine Karte, erstellt mit der freien Software Cartes du Ciel (Skychart), für die grobe Orientierung vorhanden. Im Allgemeinen empfehle ich aber, eigene Aufsuchkarten zu erstellen. Die visuelle Beschreibung des Objekts basiert weitestgehend auf eigenen Beobachtungen und soll lediglich als Anhaltspunkt dienen.

I - Frühling II - Sommer III - Herbst IV - Winter
2014 - skyguide-de-2014-2.pdf skyguide-de-2014-3.pdf skyguide-de-2014-4.pdf
2015 skyguide-de-2015-1.pdf skyguide-de-2015-2.pdf skyguide-de-2015-3.pdf skyguide-de-2015-4.pdf
2016 skyguide-de-2016-1.pdf skyguide-de-2016-2.pdf skyguide-de-2016-3.pdf skyguide-de-2016-4.pdf
2017 skyguide-de-2017-1.pdf skyguide-de-2017-2.pdf skyguide-de-2017-3.pdf skyguide-de-2017-4.pdf
2018 skyguide-de-2018-1.pdf skyguide-de-2018-2.pdf skyguide-de-2018-3.pdf skyguide-de-2018-4.pdf
2019 skyguide-de-2019-1.pdf skyguide-de-2019-2.pdf skyguide-de-2019-3.pdf skyguide-de-2019-4.pdf
2020 skyguide-de-2020-1.pdf skyguide-de-2020-2.pdf skyguide-de-2020-3.pdf skyguide-de-2020-4.pdf
2021 HTML HTML HTML HTML
2022 HTML HTML HTML in Arbeit...

Skyguide 2022-1 (Frühling)

von Robert Zebahl & René Merting
Skyguide 2022-1 - Chart
Karte erstellt mit Cartes du Ciel

Skyguide 2022-1 - 1
Picot 1 (Napoleons Hut) – Quelle: DSS

Unsere Himmelstour bewegt sich dieses Mal im Sternbild Bärenhüter (lat. Bootes). Der Hauptstern Arktur ist dabei der dritthellste Stern des Himmels. Der Bärenhüter gehört zu den alten Sternbildern und ist seit der Antike bekannt. Es gibt etliche Mythen und Geschichten, auf welche hier nicht weiter eingegangen werden soll.

Da der Bärenhüter weit ab vom Milchstraßenband liegt, findet man kaum Sternhaufen oder Gasnebel. Dafür hält er etliche Doppelsterne, aber auch einige schöne Galaxien bereit. Zuerst wollen wir in unmittelbarer Nähe von Arktur beginnen, wo sich das Sternmuster Picot 1 befindet. Es besteht aus 7 Sternen mit Helligkeiten zwischen 9m.5 und 10m.6 und kann bereits unter städtischen Bedingungen mit einem mittelgroßen Fernglas beobachtet werden. Aufgrund der Form ist es auch unter dem Namen „Napoleons Hut” bekannt, wobei die Hutspitze Richtung Nordwesten zeigt. Doch es muss nicht zwingend ein Hut sein. Beschreibung von Robert Zebahl mit einem 16x70-Fernglas unter Stadthimmel: „Recht auffälliges Sternmuster, welches in der Tat als Hut interpretiert werden kann. Die Hutkrempe Richtung Südwesten wirkt dabei verkürzt aufgrund eines schwächeren Sterns. Ich sehe hier eher einen kleinen Berg. Insgesamt ein durchaus ansehnliches Sternmuster.” René Merting beschreibt Picot 1 in seinem 12.5-Zoll-Dobson unter dunklem Landhimmel wie folgt: „Hier fällt auf, dass im Umfeld nicht viel mehr Sterne, als in kleinen Öffnungen sichtbar, dazu kommen, das Muster steht ziemlich allein - der Gedanke an eine Made, die zum gelbgoldenen Apfel Arktur robbt, gefällt mir besser als der Hut.” Ob Hut, Berg oder Made, die Freude beim Beobachten war gewiss.


Skyguide 2022-1 - 2
NPP (Norman's Passing Pair) [1] – Quelle: DSS
Skyguide 2022-1 - 3
NPP (Norman's Passing Pair) [2] – Quelle: DSS

Weiter nördlich kommen wir zu einem weiteren, sehr speziellen Sternmuster. Es trägt den Namen „Norman's Passing Pair” (NPP) und wurde erst im Jahr 2018 durch den deutschen Amateurastronomen Norman Görlitz beschrieben. Auf den ersten Blick handelt es sich um drei mittelhelle Sterne, welche recht auffällig sind, da sich keine helleren Sterne im näheren Umfeld befinden. Die Besonderheit ist, dass die beiden westlichen Sterne ein physikalisches Paar des Mehrfachsystems BU 1442 bilden, welches sich mit recht hoher Eigenbewegung von etwa 1.37" pro Jahr Richtung Südosten bewegt. Der östliche der drei Sterne ist lediglich ein Hintergrundstern. Die Eigenbewegung kann sehr gut erkannt werden, wenn man die beiden DSS-Bilder vergleicht. Bei dem linken DSS-Bild (1) handelt es sich um eine ältere Aufnahme der ersten DSS-Version.

Fotografisch und visuell kann die Eigenbewegung auch im Laufe einiger Jahre gut erkannt werden. Für eine erste Beobachtung genügt bereits ein 16x70-Fernglas. Bei einem flüchtigen Blick erscheinen die drei Sterne eher als länglicher Nebel, bei genauerem Hinsehen sind diese aber klar getrennt. Für den Nachweis der Eigenbewegung empfiehlt sich natürlich ein Teleskop.


Skyguide 2022-1 - 4
Epsilon Bootis – Zeichnung von Robert Zebahl, 60/600mm Refraktor (193x), 10.04.2018

Als nächstes besuchen wir zwei Doppelsterne und fangen mit einem Klassiker an: epsilon Bootis (Izar). Mit einem Winkelabstand von ca. 2.8" und einer Helligkeitsdifferenz der Komponenten von etwas mehr als zwei Größenklassen lässt er sich wunderbar in nahezu jedem Teleskop beobachten. Aufgrund der Gesamthelligkeit ist er selbst unter aufgehelltem Himmel schnell gefunden. Die Hauptkomponente erscheint Beobachtern gelblich bis orange, der Begleiter grau oder blau. Besonders bei kleinen Teleskopen sind sehr hohe Vergrößerungen förderlich, da der schwächere Begleiter dann bereits mit dem ersten Beugungsring der Hauptkomponente verschmilzt. Das ist gut in nebenstehender Zeichnung erkennbar.

Südlich von epsilon Bootis liegt der Doppelstern STF 1884. Mit 6m.6 und 7m.5 bei einem Winkelabstand von 2.1" sollte er noch gut in kleineren Teleskopen ab etwa 80mm Öffnung trennbar sein. In noch kleineren Teleskopen ist genaue Beobachtung erforderlich, bei etwa 100mm Öffnung ist er bei 160-facher Vergrößerung einfach zu trennen. Ein sehenswerter Doppelstern, wenn auch farblich nicht sonderlich auffällig.


Skyguide 2022-1 - 5
Arp 199 (NGC 5544/5) – Quelle: Pan-STARRS

Unser Spaziergang führt nun zu zwei Kugelsternhaufen, welche in ihrer Erscheinung sehr unterschiedlich sind. Messier 3 (6m.4) erscheint sehr hell und stark kondensiert, NGC 5466 (9m.1) dagegen deutlich schwächer ohne nennenswerte Helligkeitszunahme zum Zentrum. Während Messier 3 bereits einfach unter aufgehelltem Himmel im kleinen 8x40-Fernglas als kompakter Nebel zu sehen ist, benötigt NGC 5466 recht dunklen Landhimmel, ist dann aber aufgrund seiner Winkelausdehnung von knapp 10' auch in einem mittelgroßen Fernglas erreichbar.

Letztes und schwierigstes Objekt ist das interagierende Galaxienpaar Arp 199, bestehend aus NGC 5544 und NGC 5545. Die Angaben zur Gesamthelligkeit variieren je nach Quelle sehr. Die maximale scheinbare Winkelausdehnung der Galaxien beträgt höchstens 1', sodass für die Trennung beider Galaxien voneinander eher hohe Vergrößerungen notwendig sind. Mit 8 Zoll Teleskopöffnung unter dunklem Landhimmel (Bortle 4) ist das Paar keineswegs einfach, aber auch nicht herausfordernd für den geübten Beobachter. Die Form der Galaxien ist bei 150-facher Vergrößerung gut zu sehen, die Trennung der Galaxien ist dagegen recht schwierig.

Zum Abschluss wünschen wir viel Freude bei der Beobachtung.